Spooky Charging Issue

Tech and talk about the Taycan
Rich_911
While cleaning up the garage yesterday I discovered this (see pic below). Hopefully this happened before Porsche changed the default charging amperage to 20 amps (down from 34 amps if I remember correctly).
Attachments
IMG_3575.jpg
IMG_3575.jpg (887.02 KiB) Viewed 657 times

Regards,
Rich

---------------------------
2008 911 4s
2020 Taycan Turbo S

Tom
Site Admin
I'm not an electrician or Taycan owner, so consider the source, but that outlet (NEMA 1450-R) should be a 50Amp outlet. I have the same outlet one for my welder. Even at 34 amps, it's well below its rated capacity. What charger are you using? There's lots of talk on the internet about the plug used on the Porsche charger overheating inside due to undersized wires. I'd get that outlet changed asap (internal damage just makes the issue worse); call your dealer; and lower your charge rate until the plug stays cool enough to touch after sustained charging.

Rich_911
That plug is on a 50 amp breaker, and I had an electrician run the a new cable in the ceiling for this. He knew the amperage and he installed the plug. This setup should all be good. I'm using the charger that came with the Taycan.

About a year ago my Dealer lowered the default charging amperage to 20amps - there were complaints the charger was overheating in "Southern regions", like Florida and Texas. I have had a few occasions where the charger display was red and complained of overheating. Since then, if the temperature is over 95F I've put a fan on the charger. (What was Porsche thinking??) The solution offered (as noted above) was to lower the default charging amperage.

I'll start checking how hot the plug is the next few times I charge the car. I'll also have the plug replaced.

Regards,
Rich

2008 911 4s
2020 Taycan Turbo S

Tom
Site Admin